PHP mail function

The function mail() from PHP may be used freely, in compliance with the law and our T&Cs.

We do not impose a limit on the number of emails sent in a given period but we limit their sending speed.

Thus, it is possible to send 20, 2000 or 20000 e-mails, without risk of being blocked, but they will be transmitted with a flow of approximately 600 e-mails per hour.

In case of abuse, we reserve the right to immediately suspend any site linked to an email that does not comply with the law or our terms of use.

Advice and optimization

Sender

The "From" (and associated headers: envelope-from, reply-to...) must always correspond to the domain name of the site from which the e-mail is sent.

Indeed, if the From of the sent email does not match a domain name associated with a Nuxit / PHPNET service, you are exposing yourself to a delivery problem caused by the SPF, DKIM and DMARC verification systems.

In conclusion, what not to do :

  • Use an email address entered by a visitor as a sender for a message sent via your website.
  • Use the e-mail address of another provider, such as Gmail.com, Orange.fr or Hotmail.fr as the sender.

Content

  • Avoid using too muchimages in your email: try as much as possible to group several small images into one larger image. The image/text ratio must be balanced, in fact an email composed exclusively of images has every chance of being considered as spam. So think of accompanying your images with sufficient text. In general, put graphics, photos, logos... in short everything that is not textual. The textual part, as for it, must be typed in true HTML text. Last but not least, do not incorporate your images directly into the message, but link to images hosted on the web. You will get a double benefit because in addition to better passing the anti-spam barriers, you will lighten the weight of your message and at the same time increase the sending speed!
  • Ban Obviously, words or expressions with a double meaning that could have a sexual or "medicinal" connotation. Also avoid words like "Free", "Promotion", "Promo", "Discount", "Offer", "Sale", "Gift"... or certain characters, such as the exclamation mark or the question mark in the subject of the message. To find out which characters to avoid, you can visit the Microsoft site for Outlook. More subtly, avoid putting your hyperlinks behind terms such as "Click here".
  • The use of certain terms is not the only clue on which spam filters base their rejection of an e-mail. They also take into account the formatas the font size or its color. Thus, avoid writing the entire message in a font equal to or larger than 16. Also, red and green should be avoided.
  • Avoid as much as possible the files in attachmentsThis is especially important if your message contains little text. Instead, put your files on a web server and put download links in your email. By doing this, you reduce the weight of the message and therefore increase the speed of sending.
  • Even if you want to send your message in HTML format, also fill in the message part Text. You will get a double benefit: on the one hand, recipients who cannot read HTML (it still exists!) will still be able to read your email. On the other hand, anti-spam filters are generally less strict with messages in double format.
  • Don't put your URLs as IP addresses, and avoid URLs containing percentages and dollars. Don't put a tracked link behind a URL either. Instead, put something like "visit our site", or put your URL as an image.

Bulk sending

  • Each e-mail sent must mention a clear and functional unsubscribe link.
  • You must not send e-mails that to persons who have intentionally requested the reception of your messages.
Updated on 7 May 2020

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

Fonction mail de PHP

La fonction mail() de PHP peut être utilisée librement, dans le cadre du respect de la loi et de nos CGV.

Nous n’imposons pas de limite sur le nombre de mails envoyés sur une période donnée mais nous limitons leur vitesse d’envoi.

Ainsi, il est possible d’envoyer 20, 2000 ou 20000 e-mails, sans risque d’être bloqué, mais ils seront transmis avec un débit d’environ 600 e-mails par heures.

En cas d’abus, nous nous réservons le droit de suspendre immédiatement tout site lié à un envoi de mail ne respectant pas la loi ou nos conditions d’utilisation.

Conseils et optimisations

Expéditeur

Le « From » (et en-têtes associées : enveloppe-from, reply-to..) doit toujours correspondre au nom de domaine du site depuis lequel est envoyé l’e-mail.

En effet, si le From de l’e-mail envoyé ne correspond pas un nom de domaine associé à un service Nuxit / PHPNET, vous vous exposez à un problème de livraison causé par les systèmes de vérification SPF, DKIM et DMARC.

En conclusion, ce qu’il ne faut pas faire :

  • Utiliser une adresse e-mail entrée par un visiteur comme expéditeur pour un message envoyé via votre site web.
  • Utiliser l’adresse e-mail d’un autre prestataire, comme Gmail.com, Orange.fr ou encore Hotmail.fr comme expéditeur.

Contenu

  • Évitez de mettre trop d’images dans votre mail : essayez dans la mesure du possible de regrouper plusieurs petites images en une image plus grande. Le ratio images/texte doit être équilibré, en effet un mail composé exclusivement d’images a toutes les chances d’être considéré comme du spam. Pensez donc à accompagner vos images de texte en quantité suffisante. De manière générale, mettez sous forme d’images les graphiques, photos, logos… bref tout ce qui n’est pas textuel. La partie textuelle, quant à elle, doit être tapée en véritable texte HTML. Enfin et surtout, n’incorporez pas vos images directement dans le message, mais faites des liens vers des images hébergées sur le web. Vous en tirerez un double bénéfice puisqu’en plus de mieux franchir les barrières anti-spam, vous allégez le poids de votre message et augmentez du même coup la vitesse d’envoi !
  • Bannissez bien évidemment les mots ou expressions à double sens qui pourraient prendre une connotation sexuelle ou « médicamenteuse ». Évitez également les mots comme « Gratuit », « Promotion », « Promo », « Discount », « Offre », « Soldes », « Cadeau »… ou certains caractères, tel que le point d’exclamation ou le point d’interrogation dans le sujet du message. Pour connaître les caractères à éviter, vous pouvez visiter le site de Microsoft pour Outlook. Plus subtil, évitez de mettre vos liens hypertextes derrière des termes tels que « Cliquez ici ».
  • L’utilisation de certains termes n’est pas le seul indice sur lequel les filtres anti-spam se basent pour rejeter un e-mail. Ils prennent également en compte le format, comme la taille de la police ou sa couleur. Ainsi, évitez d’écrire l’ensemble du message en police égale ou supérieure à 16. De même, le rouge et le vert sont à proscrire.
  • Évitez tant que possible les fichiers en pièces jointes, surtout s’ils sont de type PDF et d’autant plus si votre message contient peu de texte. A la place, déposez vos fichiers sur un serveur web et mettez des liens de téléchargement dans votre mail. En faisant cela, vous réduisez du même coup le poids du message et donc augmentez la vitesse d’envoi.
  • Même si vous voulez envoyer votre message au format HTML, remplissez également la partie message Texte. Vous en tirerez un double bénéfice : d’une part, les destinataires qui ne peuvent pas lire le HTML (ça existe encore !) pourront quand même prendre connaissance de votre email. D’autre part, les filtres anti-spam sont généralement moins stricts avec des messages au double format.
  • Ne mettez pas vos URL sous forme d’adresse IP, et évitez les URL contenant des pourcentages et des dollars. Ne mettez pas non plus de lien tracké derrière une URL. Préférez une mention du style « visitez notre site », ou bien mettez votre URL sous forme d’image.

Envoi en masse (bulk sending)

  • Chaque e-mail envoyé doit mentionner un lien clair et fonctionnel de désinscription.
  • Vous ne devez envoyer des e-mails qu’à des personnes qui ont intentionnellement sollicité la réception de vos messages.
Updated on 7 mai 2020

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Leave a Comment